FederalClosing soonFixed dateBureau of Justice Assistance

DOJ FY 2026 Assisting Neighborhoods and Governments with Enforcement of Laws (ANGEL) Grant Program

Award ceiling
up to $500,000
Closes
Oct 20, 2026
Last verified
2026-09-25

Awards up to $500,000 per recipient for city or township governments, county governments, native american tribal governments (federally recognized), native american tribal organizations (other than federally recognized tribal governments), others (see text field entitled "additional information on eligibility" for clarification), special district governments, state governments, closing Oct 20, 2026.

City or township governmentsCounty governmentsNative American tribal governments (Federally recognized)Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)Special district governmentsState governmentsLaw, Justice & Legal Services

In one sentence

DOJ FY 2026 Assisting Neighborhoods and Governments with Enforcement of Laws (ANGEL) Grant Program awards up to $500,000 per recipient, open to city or township governments, county governments, native american tribal governments (federally recognized), native american tribal organizations (other…

Record fields
Program pool (total)
Not confirmed
Total across all awards in this programme. Not an amount any single applicant can receive.
Award ceiling (per project)
$500,000
Award floor
Not confirmed
Typical award
Not confirmed
Deadline
Oct 20, 2026
Deadline type
Fixed date
Opens
Sep 24, 2026
Status
Closing soon
Eligible entities
City or township governments · County governments · Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized) · Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments) · Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification) · Special district governments · State governments
Geography
Not stated
Matching funds
No
Disbursement
Not confirmed
Application effort
Not confirmed
Use of funds
Hire or rehire full-time sworn law enforcement officers and deputies · Hire or rehire full-time civilian/non-sworn personnel · Hiring, retention, and training of critical non-law enforcement personnel including forensic, investigative, analytical, prosecution and legal support · Purchase and support of surveillance, intelligence, and investigative technology · Purchase and support of forensic and analytical equipment · Purchase and support of officer safety and tactical equipment
Currency
USD

How much money is available?

Two different figures govern a programme and they are not interchangeable. The programme pool is what the funder has allocated across every award it will make this cycle. The award ceiling is the most one applicant can be granted.

Program pool (total)Across all awards this cycle
Not stated
Award ceiling (per project)The most one applicant can receive
$500,000

Who can apply?

level
Derived from the source that published this record
entity
City or township governments, County governments, Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized), Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments), Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification), Special district governments, State governments
Source field: entity types
industry
Source field: industries
use
Hire or rehire full-time civilian/non-sworn personnel, Hire or rehire full-time sworn law enforcement officers and deputies, Hiring, retention, and training of critical non-law enforcement personnel including forensic, investigative, analytical, prosecution and legal support, Purchase and support of forensic and analytical equipment, Purchase and support of officer safety and tactical equipment, Purchase and support of surveillance, intelligence, and investigative technology
Source field: use of funds
size limit

Not confirmed

Source field: applicant size limit
clause text

State agencies with law enforcement responsibilities; Other Units of Local Government: For the purposes of this notice of funding opportunity, other units of local government include towns, boroughs, parishes, villages, or other general…

We store the structured fields above. Clause-by-clause text from the guidelines is not connected for this record.

When does it close?

Oct 20, 202625 daysDeadline type Fixed date

What can the money be used for?

6 categorys
The source’s own spending categories, and what is not parsed.
Hire or rehire full-time sworn law enforcement officers and deputiesHire or rehire full-time civilian/non-sworn personnelHiring, retention, and training of critical non-law enforcement personnel including forensic, investigative, analytical, prosecution and legal supportPurchase and support of surveillance, intelligence, and investigative technologyPurchase and support of forensic and analytical equipmentPurchase and support of officer safety and tactical equipment

These categories come from the source's own classification. A line-item cost table, where the programme publishes one, lives in the guidelines and is not parsed for this record.

How hard is the application?

1 field
Effort, match requirement and reimbursement, as the source stated them.
Application effort
Not confirmed
Disbursement
Not confirmed
Matching funds
No

What comparable notices state

44 records
Stated ceilings on open records in the same industry.

Among open records stored under Law, Justice & Legal Services, 44 of 44 state an award ceiling. Those that do run:

  • 25th percentile$731,250
  • Median$1,750,000
  • 75th percentile$4,000,000

A statistical estimate, not a prediction. It describes what a set of notices has published in this catalogue on the day you read it, and says nothing about what this programme will award. Records stating no ceiling are excluded rather than counted as zero, and the programme pool — what a funder has across every applicant — is a different column and is never mixed in.

Common questions

5 questions
Every answer is a stored field from this record. Questions the source did not answer are not asked.
How much can one applicant receive?
Up to $500,000 per recipient.
When is the application deadline?
Oct 20, 2026.
Who is eligible to apply?
City or township governments, County governments, Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized), Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments), Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification), Special district governments, State governments.
What can the funding be used for?
Hire or rehire full-time sworn law enforcement officers and deputies, Hire or rehire full-time civilian/non-sworn personnel, Hiring, retention, and training of critical non-law enforcement personnel including forensic, investigative, analytical, prosecution and legal support, Purchase and support of surveillance, intelligence, and investigative technology, Purchase and support of forensic and analytical equipment, Purchase and support of officer safety and tactical equipment, as classified by the source.
Is matching funding required?
No. The source states that no matching funds are required.

AI summary of the source text

Optional. Every core field on this record is already above, free and complete.

AI summary of the source text

Studio reads this record’s stored eligibility and materials text and breaks it into separate points, each quoting the exact words it came from. It never writes application prose, never guesses at a field the source did not state, and never estimates anyone’s chances.

Included with Studio

Sign in
Also open from Bureau of Justice Assistance
Provenance
Source pagegrants.gov
Retrieved2026-09-25
MethodAutomated check
First seen2026-09-25

The official page governs. If the source and this record disagree, the source is correct — programmes change their terms between our checks, so confirm every figure above before you apply.