FederalOpenFixed dateNational Institutes of Health

Limited Competition: Small Grant Program for NIDDK K01/K08/K23/K25 Recipients (R03 Clinical Trial Optional)

Awards up to $75,000 per recipient for city or township governments, county governments, for profit organizations other than small businesses, independent school districts, native american tribal governments (federally recognized), native american tribal organizations (other than federally recognized tribal governments), nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the irs, other than institutions of higher education, nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the irs, other than institutions of higher education, others (see text field entitled "additional information on eligibility" for clarification), private institutions of higher education, public and state controlled institutions of higher education, public housing authorities/indian housing authorities, small businesses, special district governments, state governments, closing Jan 7, 2028.

City or township governmentsCounty governmentsFor profit organizations other than small businessesIndependent school districtsNative American tribal governments (Federally recognized)Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher educationNonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher educationOthers (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)Private institutions of higher educationPublic and State controlled institutions of higher educationPublic housing authorities/Indian housing authoritiesSmall businessesSpecial district governmentsState governmentsFood & NutritionHealth & Human Services

In one sentence

Limited Competition: Small Grant Program for NIDDK K01/K08/K23/K25 Recipients (R03 Clinical Trial Optional) awards up to $75,000 per recipient, open to city or township governments, county governments, for profit organizations other than small businesses, independent school districts, native…

Record fields
Program pool (total)
Not confirmed
Total across all awards in this programme. Not an amount any single applicant can receive.
Award ceiling (per project)
$75,000
Award floor
Not confirmed
Typical award
Not confirmed
Deadline
Jan 7, 2028
Deadline type
Fixed date
Opens
Jan 10, 2025
Status
Open
Eligible entities
City or township governments · County governments · For profit organizations other than small businesses · Independent school districts · Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized) · Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments) · Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education · Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education · Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification) · Private institutions of higher education · Public and State controlled institutions of higher education · Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities · Small businesses · Special district governments · State governments
Geography
Not stated
Matching funds
No
Disbursement
Not confirmed
Application effort
Not confirmed
Use of funds
pilot and feasibility studies · secondary analysis of existing data · small, self-contained research projects · development of research methodology · development of new research technology
Currency
USD

How much money is available?

Two different figures govern a programme and they are not interchangeable. The programme pool is what the funder has allocated across every award it will make this cycle. The award ceiling is the most one applicant can be granted.

Program pool (total)Across all awards this cycle
Not stated
Award ceiling (per project)The most one applicant can receive
$75,000

Who can apply?

level
Derived from the source that published this record
entity
City or township governments, County governments, For profit organizations other than small businesses, Independent school districts, Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized), Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments), Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education, Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education, Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification), Private institutions of higher education
+5more, Public and State controlled institutions of higher education, Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities, Small businesses, Special district governments, State governments
Source field: entity types
industry
Source field: industries
use
development of new research technology, development of research methodology, pilot and feasibility studies, secondary analysis of existing data, small, self-contained research projects
Source field: use of funds
size limit

Not confirmed

Source field: applicant size limit
clause text

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are allowed.

We store the structured fields above. Clause-by-clause text from the guidelines is not connected for this record.

When does it close?

Jan 7, 2028487 daysDeadline type Fixed date

What can the money be used for?

5 categorys
The source’s own spending categories, and what is not parsed.
pilot and feasibility studiessecondary analysis of existing datasmall, self-contained research projectsdevelopment of research methodologydevelopment of new research technology

These categories come from the source's own classification. A line-item cost table, where the programme publishes one, lives in the guidelines and is not parsed for this record.

How hard is the application?

1 field
Effort, match requirement and reimbursement, as the source stated them.
Application effort
Not confirmed
Disbursement
Not confirmed
Matching funds
No

Common questions

5 questions
Every answer is a stored field from this record. Questions the source did not answer are not asked.
How much can one applicant receive?
Up to $75,000 per recipient.
When is the application deadline?
Jan 7, 2028.
Who is eligible to apply?
City or township governments, County governments, For profit organizations other than small businesses, Independent school districts, Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized), Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments), Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education, Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education, Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification), Private institutions of higher education, Public and State controlled institutions of higher education, Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities, Small businesses, Special district governments, State governments.
What can the funding be used for?
pilot and feasibility studies, secondary analysis of existing data, small, self-contained research projects, development of research methodology, development of new research technology, as classified by the source.
Is matching funding required?
No. The source states that no matching funds are required.

AI summary of the source text

Optional. Every core field on this record is already above, free and complete.

AI summary of the source text

Studio reads this record’s stored eligibility and materials text and breaks it into separate points, each quoting the exact words it came from. It never writes application prose, never guesses at a field the source did not state, and never estimates anyone’s chances.

Included with Studio

Sign in
Provenance
Source pagegrants.gov
Retrieved2026-09-04
MethodAutomated check
First seen2026-09-04

The official page governs. If the source and this record disagree, the source is correct — programmes change their terms between our checks, so confirm every figure above before you apply.