NCMRR Early Career Research Award (R03 Clinical Trial Optional)

Awards $200,000 per recipient for alaska native and native hawaiian serving institutions, asian american native american pacific islander serving institutions (aanapisiss), business, city or township governments, county governments, eligible agencies of the federal government, faith-based or community-based organizations, for profit organizations other than small businesses, hispanic-serving institutions, historically black colleges and universities (hbcus), independent school districts, indian/native american tribal governments (other than federally recognized), native american tribal governments (federally recognized), native american tribal organizations (other than federally recognized tribal governments), non-domestic (non-u.s.) entities (foreign organizations), nonprofit, nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the irs, other than institutions of higher education, nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the irs, other than institutions of higher education, other legal entity, private institutions of higher education, public agency, public and state controlled institutions of higher education, public housing authorities/indian housing authorities, regional organizations, small businesses, special district governments, state governments, tribal government, tribally controlled colleges and universities (tccus), u.s. territory or possession, closing Jan 7, 2028.

In one sentence

NCMRR Early Career Research Award (R03 Clinical Trial Optional) awards $200,000 per recipient, open to alaska native and native hawaiian serving institutions, asian american native american pacific islander serving institutions (aanapisiss), business, city or township governments, county…

Record fields
Program pool (total)
Not confirmed
Total across all awards in this programme. Not an amount any single applicant can receive.
Award ceiling (per project)
$200,000
Award ceiling of $200,000 with estimated funding of $200,000
Award floor
$200,000
Typical award
$200,000
Deadline
Jan 7, 2028
Deadline type
fixed
Opens
Nov 18, 2024
Status
Open
Eligible entities
Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions · Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs) · Business · City or township governments · County governments · Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government · Faith-based or Community-based Organizations · For profit organizations other than small businesses · Hispanic-serving Institutions · Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) · Independent school districts · Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized) · Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized) · Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments) · Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) · Nonprofit · Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education · Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education · Other Legal Entity · Private institutions of higher education · Public Agency · Public and State controlled institutions of higher education · Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities · Regional Organizations · Small businesses · Special district governments · State governments · Tribal Government · Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) · U.S. Territory or Possession
Geography
Not stated
Matching funds
No
Disbursement
Not confirmed
Application effort
Not confirmed
Currency
USD

How much money is available?

Two different figures govern a programme and they are not interchangeable. The programme pool is what the funder has allocated across every award it will make this cycle. The award ceiling is the most one applicant can be granted.

Program pool (total)Across all awards this cycle
Not stated
Award ceiling (per project)The most one applicant can receive
$200,000

Source wording: “Award ceiling of $200,000 with estimated funding of $200,000

Who can apply?

industry

Education, Health

Source field: industries
use

Basic research, Clinical research, Development of new technology, Development of research methodology, Outcomes research, Secondary analysis of existing data, Small, self-contained research projects, Translational research

Source field: use of funds
size limit

Not stated

Source field: applicant size limit
clause text

Not stated

We store the structured fields above. Clause-by-clause text from the guidelines is not connected for this record.

When does it close?

Jan 7, 2028493 daysfixed deadline

What can the money be used for?

Basic researchClinical researchSecondary analysis of existing dataSmall, self-contained research projectsDevelopment of research methodologyTranslational researchOutcomes researchDevelopment of new technology

These categories come from the source's own classification. A line-item cost table, where the programme publishes one, lives in the guidelines and is not parsed for this record.

How hard is the application?

Application effort
Not confirmed
Disbursement
Not confirmed
Matching funds
No
Cost sharing is false per labelled fields

Who has received this funding?

No award records yet

We hold no prior awards for this programme. That is a gap in what we have connected, not a finding that the programme has never funded anyone — check the official page, which may list past recipients.

Common questions

Every answer below is a stored field from this record. Questions the source did not answer are not asked.

How much can one applicant receive?
$200,000 per recipient. The source states: “Award ceiling of $200,000 with estimated funding of $200,000”.
When is the application deadline?
Jan 7, 2028.
Who is eligible to apply?
Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions, Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs), Business, City or township governments, County governments, Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government, Faith-based or Community-based Organizations, For profit organizations other than small businesses, Hispanic-serving Institutions, Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs), Independent school districts, Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized), Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized), Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments), Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations), Nonprofit, Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education, Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education, Other Legal Entity, Private institutions of higher education, Public Agency, Public and State controlled institutions of higher education, Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities, Regional Organizations, Small businesses, Special district governments, State governments, Tribal Government, Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs), U.S. Territory or Possession.
What can the funding be used for?
Basic research, Clinical research, Secondary analysis of existing data, Small, self-contained research projects, Development of research methodology, Translational research, Outcomes research, Development of new technology, as classified by the source.
Is matching funding required?
No. The source states that no matching funds are required. Cost sharing is false per labelled fields
Provenance
Source pagegrants.gov
Retrieved2026-09-01
MethodAutomated check
First seen2026-09-01

The official page governs. If the source and this record disagree, the source is correct — programmes change their terms between our checks, so confirm every figure above before you apply.