IUSE / Professional Formation of Engineers: Revolutionizing Engineering Departments (IUSE/PFE: RED)
- Award ceiling
- $50,000 – $2,000,000
- Closes
- Sep 8, 2026
- Last verified
- 2026-09-08
Awards $50,000 – $2,000,000 per recipient for others (see text field entitled "additional information on eligibility" for clarification), closing Sep 8, 2026.
In one sentence
IUSE / Professional Formation of Engineers: Revolutionizing Engineering Departments (IUSE/PFE: RED) awards $50,000 – $2,000,000 per recipient, open to others (see text field entitled "additional information on eligibility" for clarification), closing Sep 8, 2026.
- Program pool (total)
- $8,000,000Total across all awards in this programme. Not an amount any single applicant can receive.
- Award ceiling (per project)
- $2,000,000
- Award floor
- $50,000
- Typical award
- Not confirmed
- Deadline
- Sep 8, 2026
- Deadline type
- Fixed date
- Opens
- Apr 5, 2024
- Status
- Open
- Eligible entities
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)
- Geography
- Not stated
- Matching funds
- No
- Disbursement
- Not confirmed
- Application effort
- Not confirmed
- Use of funds
- design revolutionary new approaches to engineering education · organizational and cultural change within departments · capacity-building activities · explore development of RED Projects · adapt and implement evidence-based organizational change strategies · develop new revolutionary approaches and change strategies
- Currency
- USD
How much money is available?
Two different figures govern a programme and they are not interchangeable. The programme pool is what the funder has allocated across every award it will make this cycle. The award ceiling is the most one applicant can be granted.
Who can apply?
Not confirmed
Source field: applicant size limit*Who May Submit Proposals: Proposals may only be submitted by the following: -Institutions of Higher Education (IHEs): Two- and four-year IHEs (including community colleges) accredited in, and having a campus located in the US, acting on behalf of their faculty members. Special Instructions for International Branch Campuses of US IHEs: If the proposal includes funding to be provided to an international branch campus of a US institution of higher education (including through use of sub-awards and consultant arrangements), the proposer must explain the benefit(s) to the project of performance at the international branch campus, and justify why the project activities cannot be performed at the US campus. *Who May Serve as PI: For all tracks, the Principal Investigator (PI) must be a Department Chair/Head (or equivalent) of a department for whom a significant percentage of students will graduate or transfer to a program with a bachelor’s degree in engineering or engineering technology. The PI must be empowered to provide leadership for the proposed change process. In cases where the institutional responsibilities of a Department Chair/Head do not enable them to support the degree of change being sought, a Dean, Provost, or other senior leader may serve as PI, provided they will be responsible for the active leadership of the RED project. The qualifications of the PI can be justified in the required letter from senior institutional leadership. It is recommended that projects consider including individuals with expertise in (a) engineering education research and (b) organizational change on the leadership team.
We store the structured fields above. Clause-by-clause text from the guidelines is not connected for this record.When does it close?
What can the money be used for?
6 categorysThe source’s own spending categories, and what is not parsed.
These categories come from the source's own classification. A line-item cost table, where the programme publishes one, lives in the guidelines and is not parsed for this record.
How hard is the application?
1 fieldEffort, match requirement and reimbursement, as the source stated them.
- Application effort
- Not confirmed
- Disbursement
- Not confirmed
- Matching funds
- No
What comparable notices state
113 recordsStated ceilings on open records in the same industry.
Among open records stored under Science, Technology, Research & Development, 113 of 353 state an award ceiling. Those that do run:
- 25th percentile$500,000
- Median$1,500,000
- 75th percentile$5,000,000
A statistical estimate, not a prediction. It describes what a set of notices has published in this catalogue on the day you read it, and says nothing about what this programme will award. Records stating no ceiling are excluded rather than counted as zero, and the programme pool — what a funder has across every applicant — is a different column and is never mixed in.
Who has won this programme before?
3825 awardsAwards under the same assistance listing, not under this notice.
3825 federal awards on file under assistance listing 47.041, 47.076, the programme this notice is published under. These are not awards made under this notice — a listing covers every year the programme runs, and awards under an open notice do not exist yet.
- $26,966,737THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITYNJ · FY2024
- $22,419,764THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORKNY · FY2024
- $21,508,581UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELESCA · FY2024
- $20,412,418THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADOCO · FY2024
- $16,902,789GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORPGA · FY2025
Common questions
6 questionsEvery answer is a stored field from this record. Questions the source did not answer are not asked.
- How much can one applicant receive?
- $50,000 – $2,000,000 per recipient.
- How much funding is available in total?
- $8,000,000 across the whole programme. This is the total the funder has allocated, not an amount any single applicant can receive.
- When is the application deadline?
- Sep 8, 2026.
- Who is eligible to apply?
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification).
- What can the funding be used for?
- design revolutionary new approaches to engineering education, organizational and cultural change within departments, capacity-building activities, explore development of RED Projects, adapt and implement evidence-based organizational change strategies, develop new revolutionary approaches and change strategies, as classified by the source.
- Is matching funding required?
- No. The source states that no matching funds are required.
AI summary of the source text
Optional. Every core field on this record is already above, free and complete.
AI summary of the source text
Studio reads this record’s stored eligibility and materials text and breaks it into separate points, each quoting the exact words it came from. It never writes application prose, never guesses at a field the source did not state, and never estimates anyone’s chances.
Included with Studio
Sign inWhat else is open
- A Science of Science Approach to Analyzing and Innovating the Biomedical Research EnterpriseCloses Sep 9, 2026Awards $100,000 – $250,000
- NSF Dynamic Language Infrastructure - NEH Documenting Endangered LanguagesCloses Sep 15, 2026Awards Not stated
- Multilateral Partnerships Leveraging ExcellenceCloses Not statedAwards from $200,000
- Plant Genome Research ProgramCloses Not statedAwards Not stated
- Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR): Workshop OpportunitiesCloses Not statedAwards up to $200,000
- Division of Materials Research: Topical Materials Research ProgramsCloses Not statedAwards Not stated
A listing names the programme; a notice names one round of it. These are other rounds open now, not other years of this one.
- Major Research Instrumentation ProgramCloses Nov 16, 2026Awards $100,000 – $4,000,000
- National Science Foundation Translation to PracticeCloses Nov 17, 2026Awards $600,000 – $2,000,000
- National Science Foundation Fostering Interdisciplinary Networks to Develop Emergent and Responsive Solutions FoundryCloses Nov 18, 2026Awards Not stated
- Centers of Research Excellence in Science and Technology (CREST)Closes Dec 4, 2026Awards Not stated
- Training-based Workforce Development for Advanced Cyberinfrastructure (CyberTraining)Closes Jan 21, 2027Awards up to $1,000,000
- EPSCoR Research Infrastructure Improvement Program: Focused EPSCoR Collaborations Program (FEC)Closes Jan 26, 2027Awards $1,000,000 – $1,500,000
The official page governs. If the source and this record disagree, the source is correct — programmes change their terms between our checks, so confirm every figure above before you apply.