Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU)

Awards $5,000 – $500,000 per recipient for other legal entity, closing Aug 18, 2027.

In one sentence

Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) awards $5,000 – $500,000 per recipient, open to other legal entity, closing Aug 18, 2027.

Record fields
Program pool (total)
$84,800,000
Total across all awards in this programme. Not an amount any single applicant can receive.
Award ceiling (per project)
$500,000
Award floor of $5,000 and award ceiling of $500,000 per award. Expected number of awards: 1350.
Award floor
$5,000
Typical award
Not confirmed
Deadline
Aug 18, 2027
Deadline type
Not stated
Opens
Jun 29, 2023
Status
Open
Eligible entities
Other Legal Entity
Geography
Not stated
Matching funds
No
Disbursement
Not confirmed
Application effort
Not confirmed
Use of funds
Research participation by undergraduate students · Active research programs or research projects specifically designed for REU · REU Sites and REU Supplements
Currency
USD

How much money is available?

Two different figures govern a programme and they are not interchangeable. The programme pool is what the funder has allocated across every award it will make this cycle. The award ceiling is the most one applicant can be granted.

Program pool (total)Across all awards this cycle
$84,800,000
Award ceiling (per project)The most one applicant can receive
$500,000

Source wording: “Award floor of $5,000 and award ceiling of $500,000 per award. Expected number of awards: 1350.

Who can apply?

level
Derived from the source that published this record
entity
Other Legal Entity
Source field: entity types
industry
demographic
U.S. citizens, U.S. nationals, U.S. permanent residents
Source field: demographics
use
Active research programs or research projects specifically designed for REU, REU Sites and REU Supplements, Research participation by undergraduate students
Source field: use of funds
size limit

Not confirmed

Source field: applicant size limit
clause text

Not confirmed

We store the structured fields above. Clause-by-clause text from the guidelines is not connected for this record.

When does it close?

Aug 18, 2027345 daysDeadline type Not stated

Response date listed as Aug 18, 2027. This appears to be an ongoing program with rolling deadline structure typical of NSF solicitations.

What can the money be used for?

3 categorys
The source’s own spending categories, and what is not parsed.
Research participation by undergraduate studentsActive research programs or research projects specifically designed for REUREU Sites and REU Supplements

These categories come from the source's own classification. A line-item cost table, where the programme publishes one, lives in the guidelines and is not parsed for this record.

How hard is the application?

2 fields
Effort, match requirement and reimbursement, as the source stated them.
Application effort
Not confirmed
Disbursement
Not confirmed
Matching funds
No
Cost sharing is listed as false.

Common questions

6 questions
Every answer is a stored field from this record. Questions the source did not answer are not asked.
How much can one applicant receive?
$5,000 – $500,000 per recipient. The source states: “Award floor of $5,000 and award ceiling of $500,000 per award. Expected number of awards: 1350.”.
How much funding is available in total?
$84,800,000 across the whole programme. This is the total the funder has allocated, not an amount any single applicant can receive.
When is the application deadline?
Aug 18, 2027. Response date listed as Aug 18, 2027. This appears to be an ongoing program with rolling deadline structure typical of NSF solicitations.
Who is eligible to apply?
Other Legal Entity.
What can the funding be used for?
Research participation by undergraduate students, Active research programs or research projects specifically designed for REU, REU Sites and REU Supplements, as classified by the source.
Is matching funding required?
No. The source states that no matching funds are required. Cost sharing is listed as false.

AI summary of the source text

Optional. Every core field on this record is already above, free and complete.

AI summary of the source text

Studio reads this record’s stored eligibility and materials text and breaks it into separate points, each quoting the exact words it came from. It never writes application prose, never guesses at a field the source did not state, and never estimates anyone’s chances.

Included with Studio

Sign in
Provenance
Source pagegrants.gov
Retrieved2026-09-04
MethodAutomated check
First seen2026-09-01

The official page governs. If the source and this record disagree, the source is correct — programmes change their terms between our checks, so confirm every figure above before you apply.