Expeditions in Computing

Award ceiling
$15,000,000
Closes
Mar 31, 2027
Last verified
2026-09-06

Awards $15,000,000 per recipient for other legal entity, closing Mar 31, 2027.

Other Legal EntityUSComputer and Information Science and EngineeringScience, Technology, Research & Development

In one sentence

Expeditions in Computing awards $15,000,000 per recipient, open to other legal entity in US, closing Mar 31, 2027.

Record fields
Program pool (total)
$60,000,000
Total across all awards in this programme. Not an amount any single applicant can receive.
Award ceiling (per project)
$15,000,000
Funding is provided "for seven years" at levels up to $15,000,000 per award.
Award floor
$15,000,000
Typical award
Not confirmed
Deadline
Mar 31, 2027
Deadline type
Fixed date
Opens
Feb 14, 2020
Status
Open
Eligible entities
Other Legal Entity
Geography
US
Matching funds
No
Disbursement
Not confirmed
Application effort
Not confirmed
Use of funds
Fundamental research in computer and information science and engineering · Research team formation and collaboration · Long-term research agendas
Currency
USD

How much money is available?

Two different figures govern a programme and they are not interchangeable. The programme pool is what the funder has allocated across every award it will make this cycle. The award ceiling is the most one applicant can be granted.

Program pool (total)Across all awards this cycle
$60,000,000
Award ceiling (per project)The most one applicant can receive
$15,000,000

Source wording: “Funding is provided "for seven years" at levels up to $15,000,000 per award.

Who can apply?

level
Derived from the source that published this record
entity
Other Legal Entity
Source field: entity types
state
US
Source field: states
industry
Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Science, Technology, Research & Development
Source field: industries
use
Fundamental research in computer and information science and engineering, Long-term research agendas, Research team formation and collaboration
Source field: use of funds
size limit

Not stated

Source field: applicant size limit
clause text

Only accredited U.S. IHEs with undergraduate, masters, and doctoral programs in CISE fields may submit as lead or collaborative institutions. Subawardees may include two- and four-year U.S. IHEs, and non-profit non-academic organizations. Organizations without independent sources of support (national laboratories, for-profit organizations, and foreign organizations) cannot be funded by NSF, though they may participate if self-supported.

We store the structured fields above. Clause-by-clause text from the guidelines is not connected for this record.

When does it close?

Mar 31, 2027205 daysDeadline type Fixed date

Response date listed on grants.gov

What can the money be used for?

3 categorys
The source’s own spending categories, and what is not parsed.
Fundamental research in computer and information science and engineeringResearch team formation and collaborationLong-term research agendas

These categories come from the source's own classification. A line-item cost table, where the programme publishes one, lives in the guidelines and is not parsed for this record.

How hard is the application?

2 fields
Effort, match requirement and reimbursement, as the source stated them.
Application effort
Not confirmed
Disbursement
Not confirmed
Matching funds
No
Cost sharing is false per labelled field. However, text mentions InTrans awards will "provide limited funds to match industry support," but this is for a separate follow-on program, not this main Expeditions award.

What comparable notices state

1 record
Stated ceilings on open records in the same industry.

Sample too small. 1 open record stored under Computer and Information Science and Engineering state an award ceiling, and no figures are shown below 10. Three records do not have a middle, and a median drawn from them would be read as a benchmark.

Common questions

7 questions
Every answer is a stored field from this record. Questions the source did not answer are not asked.
How much can one applicant receive?
$15,000,000 per recipient. The source states: “Funding is provided "for seven years" at levels up to $15,000,000 per award.”.
How much funding is available in total?
$60,000,000 across the whole programme. This is the total the funder has allocated, not an amount any single applicant can receive.
When is the application deadline?
Mar 31, 2027. Response date listed on grants.gov
Who is eligible to apply?
Other Legal Entity.
Which locations are eligible?
US.
What can the funding be used for?
Fundamental research in computer and information science and engineering, Research team formation and collaboration, Long-term research agendas, as classified by the source.
Is matching funding required?
No. The source states that no matching funds are required. Cost sharing is false per labelled field. However, text mentions InTrans awards will "provide limited funds to match industry support," but this is for a separate follow-on program, not this main Expeditions award.

AI summary of the source text

Optional. Every core field on this record is already above, free and complete.

AI summary of the source text

Studio reads this record’s stored eligibility and materials text and breaks it into separate points, each quoting the exact words it came from. It never writes application prose, never guesses at a field the source did not state, and never estimates anyone’s chances.

Included with Studio

Sign in
Provenance
Source pagegrants.gov
Retrieved2026-09-06
MethodAutomated check
First seen2026-09-01

The official page governs. If the source and this record disagree, the source is correct — programmes change their terms between our checks, so confirm every figure above before you apply.