HEAL Initiative: Non-addictive Analgesic Therapeutics Development [Small Molecules and Biologics] to Treat Pain (UG3/UH3 Clinical Trial Optional)

Per-recipient award not stated for business, city or township governments, county governments, for profit organizations other than small businesses, independent school districts, native american tribal governments (federally recognized), native american tribal organizations (other than federally recognized tribal governments), nonprofit, nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the irs, other than institutions of higher education, nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the irs, other than institutions of higher education, other legal entity, private institutions of higher education, public agency, public and state controlled institutions of higher education, public housing authorities/indian housing authorities, small businesses, special district governments, state governments, tribal government, closing Feb 20, 2029.

In one sentence

HEAL Initiative: Non-addictive Analgesic Therapeutics Development [Small Molecules and Biologics] to Treat Pain (UG3/UH3 Clinical Trial Optional) does not state a per-recipient award amount, open to business, city or township governments, county governments, for profit organizations other than…

Record fields
Program pool (total)
$11,000,000
Total across all awards in this programme. Not an amount any single applicant can receive.
Award ceiling (per project)
Not confirmed
Estimated funding total; "Expected number of awards: 3"
Award floor
Not confirmed
Typical award
Not confirmed
Deadline
Feb 20, 2029
Deadline type
fixed
Opens
Jun 16, 2026
Status
Open
Eligible entities
Business · City or township governments · County governments · For profit organizations other than small businesses · Independent school districts · Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized) · Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments) · Nonprofit · Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education · Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education · Other Legal Entity · Private institutions of higher education · Public Agency · Public and State controlled institutions of higher education · Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities · Small businesses · Special district governments · State governments · Tribal Government
Geography
Not stated
Matching funds
No
Disbursement
Not confirmed
Application effort
Not confirmed
Currency
USD

How much money is available?

Two different figures govern a programme and they are not interchangeable. The programme pool is what the funder has allocated across every award it will make this cycle. The award ceiling is the most one applicant can be granted.

Program pool (total)Across all awards this cycle
$11,000,000
Award ceiling (per project)The most one applicant can receive
Not stated

Source wording: “Estimated funding total; "Expected number of awards: 3"

Who can apply?

industry

Health

Source field: industries
use

Development of pharmacodynamic and/or target engagement biomarkers, Early-stage development activities, IND-enabling studies, Lead optimization, Phase I clinical testing, Preparation and submission of an Investigational New Drug (IND) application

Source field: use of funds
size limit

Not stated

Source field: applicant size limit
clause text

Foreign organizations and non-domestic components of U.S. organizations are not eligible. Foreign components are not allowed. Applicants must have a promising small molecule or biologic lead candidate for optimization, a strong biological rationale for the proposed approach, and established assays to guide the optimization process.

We store the structured fields above. Clause-by-clause text from the guidelines is not connected for this record.

When does it close?

Feb 20, 2029904 daysfixed deadline

Response date listed as deadline

What can the money be used for?

Lead optimizationEarly-stage development activitiesIND-enabling studiesDevelopment of pharmacodynamic and/or target engagement biomarkersPreparation and submission of an Investigational New Drug (IND) applicationPhase I clinical testing

These categories come from the source's own classification. A line-item cost table, where the programme publishes one, lives in the guidelines and is not parsed for this record.

How hard is the application?

Application effort
Not confirmed
Disbursement
Not confirmed
Matching funds
No
Cost sharing: false

Who has received this funding?

No award records yet

We hold no prior awards for this programme. That is a gap in what we have connected, not a finding that the programme has never funded anyone — check the official page, which may list past recipients.

Common questions

Every answer below is a stored field from this record. Questions the source did not answer are not asked.

How much funding is available in total?
$11,000,000 across the whole programme. This is the total the funder has allocated, not an amount any single applicant can receive.
When is the application deadline?
Feb 20, 2029. Response date listed as deadline
Who is eligible to apply?
Business, City or township governments, County governments, For profit organizations other than small businesses, Independent school districts, Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized), Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments), Nonprofit, Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education, Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education, Other Legal Entity, Private institutions of higher education, Public Agency, Public and State controlled institutions of higher education, Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities, Small businesses, Special district governments, State governments, Tribal Government.
What can the funding be used for?
Lead optimization, Early-stage development activities, IND-enabling studies, Development of pharmacodynamic and/or target engagement biomarkers, Preparation and submission of an Investigational New Drug (IND) application, Phase I clinical testing, as classified by the source.
Is matching funding required?
No. The source states that no matching funds are required. Cost sharing: false
Provenance
Source pagegrants.gov
Retrieved2026-08-31
MethodAutomated check
First seen2026-08-31

The official page governs. If the source and this record disagree, the source is correct — programmes change their terms between our checks, so confirm every figure above before you apply.