Advancing Bioinformatics, Translational Bioinformatics and Computational Biology Research (R01 Clinical Trial Optional)

Awards Up to $250,000 per recipient for business, city or township governments, county governments, for profit organizations other than small businesses, independent school districts, native american tribal governments (federally recognized), native american tribal organizations (other than federally recognized tribal governments), nonprofit, nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the irs, other than institutions of higher education, nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the irs, other than institutions of higher education, other legal entity, others, private institutions of higher education, public agency, public and state controlled institutions of higher education, public housing authorities/indian housing authorities, small businesses, special district governments, state governments, tribal government, closing Mar 5, 2029.

In one sentence

Advancing Bioinformatics, Translational Bioinformatics and Computational Biology Research (R01 Clinical Trial Optional) awards up to $250,000 per recipient, open to business, city or township governments, county governments, for profit organizations other than small businesses, independent school…

Record fields
Program pool (total)
$2,500,000
Total across all awards in this programme. Not an amount any single applicant can receive.
Award ceiling (per project)
$250,000
Estimated funding is $2,500,000 total with an award ceiling of $250,000 per grant and an expected number of 10 awards.
Award floor
Not confirmed
Typical award
Not confirmed
Deadline
Mar 5, 2029
Deadline type
fixed
Opens
Feb 11, 2026
Status
Open
Eligible entities
Business · City or township governments · County governments · For profit organizations other than small businesses · Independent school districts · Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized) · Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments) · Nonprofit · Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education · Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education · Other Legal Entity · Others · Private institutions of higher education · Public Agency · Public and State controlled institutions of higher education · Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities · Small businesses · Special district governments · State governments · Tribal Government
Geography
Not stated
Matching funds
No
Disbursement
Not confirmed
Application effort
Not confirmed
Currency
USD

How much money is available?

Two different figures govern a programme and they are not interchangeable. The programme pool is what the funder has allocated across every award it will make this cycle. The award ceiling is the most one applicant can be granted.

Program pool (total)Across all awards this cycle
$2,500,000
Award ceiling (per project)The most one applicant can receive
$250,000

Source wording: “Estimated funding is $2,500,000 total with an award ceiling of $250,000 per grant and an expected number of 10 awards.

Who can apply?

industry

Health

Source field: industries
use

Creation and implementation of cutting-edge methods, tools, and approaches, Development of groundbreaking innovation and advanced development in biomedical data science, Extraction of actionable knowledge from vast, diverse, and complex biological datasets, Improved interpretation and integration of multi-dimensional biological and biomedical data, Leveraging transformative technologies such as artificial intelligence (AI), machine learning, and large-scale computational platforms, Research projects in bioinformatics, translational bioinformatics, and computational biology

Source field: use of funds
size limit

Not stated

Source field: applicant size limit
clause text

Foreign organizations and international collaborations are permitted with specific restrictions. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) entities and non-domestic components of U.S. organizations are eligible. However, NIH will no longer issue awards to entities involving foreign subawards/subcontracts effective May 1, 2025. Applications involving foreign subawards/subcontracts submitted in response to this NOFO will be deemed noncompliant. This does not preclude unfunded international collaborations, foreign components, funding for foreign consultants, or procurement of unique equipment or supplies from foreign vendors.

We store the structured fields above. Clause-by-clause text from the guidelines is not connected for this record.

When does it close?

Mar 5, 2029917 daysfixed deadline

Response date listed as Mar 05, 2029 12:00:00 AM EST

What can the money be used for?

Research projects in bioinformatics, translational bioinformatics, and computational biologyDevelopment of groundbreaking innovation and advanced development in biomedical data scienceCreation and implementation of cutting-edge methods, tools, and approachesLeveraging transformative technologies such as artificial intelligence (AI), machine learning, and large-scale computational platformsExtraction of actionable knowledge from vast, diverse, and complex biological datasetsImproved interpretation and integration of multi-dimensional biological and biomedical data

These categories come from the source's own classification. A line-item cost table, where the programme publishes one, lives in the guidelines and is not parsed for this record.

How hard is the application?

Application effort
Not confirmed
Disbursement
Not confirmed
Matching funds
No
Cost sharing is false, indicating no match is required.

Who has received this funding?

No award records yet

We hold no prior awards for this programme. That is a gap in what we have connected, not a finding that the programme has never funded anyone — check the official page, which may list past recipients.

Common questions

Every answer below is a stored field from this record. Questions the source did not answer are not asked.

How much can one applicant receive?
Up to $250,000 per recipient. The source states: “Estimated funding is $2,500,000 total with an award ceiling of $250,000 per grant and an expected number of 10 awards.”.
How much funding is available in total?
$2,500,000 across the whole programme. This is the total the funder has allocated, not an amount any single applicant can receive.
When is the application deadline?
Mar 5, 2029. Response date listed as Mar 05, 2029 12:00:00 AM EST
Who is eligible to apply?
Business, City or township governments, County governments, For profit organizations other than small businesses, Independent school districts, Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized), Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments), Nonprofit, Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education, Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education, Other Legal Entity, Others, Private institutions of higher education, Public Agency, Public and State controlled institutions of higher education, Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities, Small businesses, Special district governments, State governments, Tribal Government.
What can the funding be used for?
Research projects in bioinformatics, translational bioinformatics, and computational biology, Development of groundbreaking innovation and advanced development in biomedical data science, Creation and implementation of cutting-edge methods, tools, and approaches, Leveraging transformative technologies such as artificial intelligence (AI), machine learning, and large-scale computational platforms, Extraction of actionable knowledge from vast, diverse, and complex biological datasets, Improved interpretation and integration of multi-dimensional biological and biomedical data, as classified by the source.
Is matching funding required?
No. The source states that no matching funds are required. Cost sharing is false, indicating no match is required.
Provenance
Source pagegrants.gov
Retrieved2026-08-31
MethodAutomated check
First seen2026-08-31

The official page governs. If the source and this record disagree, the source is correct — programmes change their terms between our checks, so confirm every figure above before you apply.